Summertime Blues

I absolutely love the summer!  As a parent, we can take the kids to the pool, spend nights outside, ride our bikes, go fishing, all kinds of good stuff.  We can even get sunburned together…what a great family time!

And as a youth guy, I love it too! There are so many opportunities and so much time for building relationships with my students.  You cna go to lunch, play golf, hang out at the skate park, play some frisbee golf, see your teens at the local pool, man it is awesome.

But the one thing I struggle with is what to do with my Sunday Night Cross Current program.  I mean, we meet every sunday night at 6pm but is that the most effective way to use the summer?  With vacations, family events and the church schedule, there may be some weeks where I wind up with a handful of students.

And I’ve heard the argument that you shouldn’t shut down for the summer, it’s a time to ramp up activity.  Apparently some people thinking stopping a “program” for the summer means stopping ministry as well.  I never want to stop ministry.  In fact, if I decide to shut down Cross Current sunday night for the summer, it would be partly because it would free up time for me to do more one-on-one relationship stuff with my students.

So I ask that anyone who reads this would pray that I can discern what God wants for this summer for the students at Sycamore Creek Church.

Leave a Reply

