Christmas Traditions

You know I have a almost 4 year old daughter and an almost 1 year old son, so I have been thinking a lot about starting some Christmas traditions with my family.  The first few years I think it is the basic Christmas but I think I can get some cool traditions started.

So I have been asking around to find some cool traditions, that maybe I could steal borrow and make my own.  Here are a few that I thought were kind of cool-

Tacos– one student I asked told that his grandma makes tacos every Christmas eve (i think) and it has become something that they look forward to each year

Rudolph the Red-Nose Reindeer- I thought it was cool that a family I know sits down and watches Rudolph every Christmas Eve together.  Kind of kicks off their Christmas together!

I’m Special Plate- A mom told me that for years they have had this one plate that says “I’m special”.  Each day during December one child (and they have 6) gets to use the plate at dinner.  And she said that when she sets the plate down she tells them one reason why they are special.  And now, her  24 year old daughter told her that she still looks forward to eating with that plate!

And I think this has to be the coolest…and most meaningful Christmas tradition

Straw Bed for Jesus- From Thanksgiving to Christmas, one family has a little wooden crib big enough for baby Jesus.  And every time they do something selfless or nice for someone else, they get a few pieces of straw to put in the crib.  And on Christmas eve, they lay baby Jesus in the bed of straw that there good actions have created for Him.  Some years there is a lot of straw and some years not so much.  I think that is a beautiful picture of the spirit of Christmas.

So what is your favorite holiday tradition?

Leave a Reply

