It’s started…

Black Friday.  When you hear those words, a little trigger goes off in your brain.  I don’t even have to tell you when it it, and you know.  And we each have a different mental picture of what Black Friday is. 

For some, it is sleeping in because you had turkey for breakfast (in an omelet of course), a full-on thanksgiving dinner with turkey, mashed potatoes, etc and then polished off the day with a turkey sandwich while you watch some of the most lop-sided NFL games there ever were.  And the triptophan is working overtime to keep you in bed!  Go ahead and enjoy it!

For others, like my wife, it means getting up at 3:30am so she could be at Kohl’s by 4am when the doors opened for those crazy good sales. While other people think that is insane, she gets an adrenaline rush from the thrill of the challenge of finding the best deal ahead of time, then actually getting one of the 5 items they have in stock.  She gets a second dose of adrenaline when she comes home and figures out how much money she actually saved by doing it. I won’t say she is cheap, but very frugal with money (and I love it!!!)

But for others, like myself, Black Friday is not a day to sleep in (hey someone has to watch the kids!), not a day to go shopping (Yea I hate the mall normally.  It could make me go crazy on Black Friday!).  No it is officially the start of the Christmas Season.  And for nostalgia sake, this is the day that I start to listen to Christmas music (though I started a week early this year just so my daughter would enjoy it), the day that I get all the Christmas decorations out, and the day I put the tree up and string the lights on it!

And then of course, pound a few meals involving turkey as well…which leads to my other Black Friday tradition- A Nap!!!

Leave a Reply

