Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

I am thankful for the noise “Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” that was coming from my basement. Now the story-

Friday last week, I head to work about 11.  I stayed home in the morning for some family time since we had a youth activity that night.  So i get to work about 11 and at 11;20 I get a phone call from my wife, Andrea. 

“There is a terrible high pitch noise from the basement and I am about to go insane.  I can’t figure it out and I need you to come home.” Oh, and she wasn’t feeling good to begin with…

“Yes, dear. I’ll be right home.” (Hey I’m writing the story so I have freedom to edit…)

So I head home and head to the basement to figure out where this noise is coming from.  Our basement is unfinished so its concrete walls and the floor above.  So I track the noise down to one corner area of the basement.  As I am banging on vents and things to find out where the noise is coming from.  And I see that the wires from the security keypad are attached to some sort of transformer.  So this has to be it. So I disconnect the wires…sound still going on.  I go over to the breaker box and shut off all the breakers that are for the basement area. 

The sound goes away.

So I kiss my wife and go back to work.  At 1:30, i get a text from my wife, “It’s back”.  So I tell her to call somebody since I obviously have no idea what I am doing.  So she call the security keypad manufacturer.  Awwesome.  They tell her that it sounds like the battery in the system is dead, which is why we here the buzzing sound.  She can’t find the battery.

So I run back home.  I am looking through our entire house looking for this battery case.  No luck.  So I call the fire department for help.  They suggest I call our electric company…so I did.  It’s not their security system so they have no idea.  So now I call Andrea’s cousin who works with this kind of stuff.  It’s now pushing 3:00pm and I am getting frustrated.  Through the process, I begin shutting off every breaker to our house…basically killing all electricity to our home.  And…its still there.

So I turn the electricity back on and Andrea’s cousin says to me, “Are you sure it is not a toy?” (Do you see where I am going?)

So I tell Andrea and she says to me, “Go down stairs and check the toy microwave.”

I run to the basement and sure enough the microwave door is crack just a little and I hear “Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”.

Now to make you understand that I am not a total moron, Addison’s little kitchen (where the microwave was) is located directly below where the security keypad wires are.

So I spent about 2 and a half hours of my day beating on my basement because her microwave was going “Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee”.

I wasn’t sure whether I should laugh, cry or get mad.  Either way, I know that the next time I am home by myself, there is a microwave that is going to be finding the trash can.

So I am thankful for “Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” because:
1. It means that we can all hear
2. It wasn’t what I thought it was
3. It reminded me how thankful we should be for our home…that doesn’t make noise!
4. It means my daughter has toys to play with…but will be one toy short soon
5. It means the toy popcorn was all done!

Leave a Reply

