My Struggle with Purity

I mean, not me personally.  I think I struggle with staying pure like everyone else does.  But this week I have struggled.  You see, we are wrapping up our Sunday Night Series, “Sex Appeal: God’s plan for love, sex and dating” with a message tonight called “A Call to Purity”.  And I am struggling with which angle I wanted to teach purity from.  I was thinking of a silent service where students reflect internally, but I think that may be way to much with the subject.  Then I was thinking about a character that we could look at like David, who slipped up but still managed to be “a man after God’s own heart”.  So its been a struggle.

In the end, I think after all the study, I am going to talk about what i know about purity, using examples from our lives today, and then give students time to reflect on their purity.  There is a process to purity and it is found in in Psalm 139:23-24

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.
 24 Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.”

The process- Examination (Search me, O God), Removal (Point out anything that offends), Replacement (Lead me along the path) and Repeat (purity is not a one time thing- it is a continual growth process)

So if you think about, say a little prayer for me as I talk to students about something that I don’t have completely figured out yet!

Leave a Reply

