2/2/2003

A friend asked me today when my first Sunday at LCC was?  The answer: 2/2/2003.  And it got me thinking about how that came about and what God has done in our lives since then.

We moved from Chattanooga, TN to Woodbridge, VA on faith.  My wife of 7 months (at the time) and I had no full-time jobs lined up and were getting paid by the church $500 a month.  With a car payment, credit card bills and a cell phone, we had spent that with no problem.  A family in the church, Terry and Judy Cummings, opened their home to us and let us live with them for 2 and a half months.  Funny thing is, we didn’t know them, had never met them, until we pulled into their driveway with a moving truck.  But they were good to us.  And we are grateful for that.  They became like second parents to us. So we began our youth ministry on a part-time basis on 2/2/2003.

Fast forward 4 and a half years.  Andrea and I have been married 5 years, have a two year old daughter, Addison, and on second child on the way.  I worked at the Pentagon for over 3 years and did student ministry part-time (student ministry is never part-time) until May 2006 when God allowed Josh and I to come on staff full- time.   What an amazing day that was.  I was blessed to be able to basically take a ministry from almost nothing (since the church was less than a year old) and mold it into a functioning, and I think effective youth ministry.  And in the process, get to love some of the best teens in the world.

Now God is moving us to a new church and a new group of teens.  In the time Andrea and I have gotten to spend with some of the teens from Sycamore Creek, we have already fallen in love with those teens.  I can’ t wait to get to Sycamore Creek and get running.  And who knows what the next 5 years will hold for us.  A lot can happen, and I am so glad it does.

1 Comment »

  1. LOU TIMMONS said

    Scott: I’ve been trying to locate you. I lost your phone # and email address. I have a “thank you” gift for you from your time at the Pentagon Security Desk. Could you contact me? My direct phone line at the Public Affairs shop is 703-697-2769.

    Thanks! Lou

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

