Skubala

“What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ” Philippians 3:8

Skubala (skoo’-bal-a): What is thrown to the dogs, refuse, dung

Just a thought previewing this Sunday’s message.  That word translated “rubbish” is skubala.  But Skubala can be translated two ways. One is trash, rubbish, garbage.  The other is actually dung, or the slang term for dung.  If your kid used the word Skubala, you would ground them or wash their mouth out with soap.  And I really think that is what Paul means when he say, I count them as Skubala. 

That puts it in perspective.  See You Sunday!

 

2 Comments »

  1. Darcy said

    I’m looking forward to hearing you preach this Sunday. You always do a good job.

  2. James Lawson said

    Hello,
    Just had a question from my aunt about why my e-mail address includes this very word, thinking I couldn’t have really known what the word means. She sent me a list of sites with its definition… including yours. I’m thinking she didn’t read far enough… should have read yours in full! I appreciate it.

    Thank you.

    James Lawson

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

