Kickin’ it at the Beach

You know sometimes you just need a quiet place to read so you can finish those last two chapters of your book.  You know where I went?  The airport.  Yeah, oh so quiet.  Actually it was good.  I turned on the mp3 player kicked back in the ever so comfortable chairs at the gate and finished “The Barbarian Way”  by Erwin Mcmanus.  What an amazing book.  It definitely challenges your thinking.  The one big thing I took from it:  Follow God’s plan for your life, even if it bucks the trends.  Listen to God- be God-taught, God-moved and God-inspired.  Don’t let “cultured Christianity” tell you that you can’t do something.   Jesus was not civilized when He was on earth, so why do we have to be?  That is not to say that I should fight the church for the sake of fighting the church, but sometimes I need to be willing to step out and go with God instead of maintaining status quo.

 So needless to say, I learned a lot.  I finished the book Tuesday Night right before I hopped the plane to Myrtle Beach to spend a few days relaxing with the family.  I just started reading my next book “The Gospel According to Starbucks” by Leonard Sweet.  gospel-according-to-starbucks.jpgI am only 6 pages into it, but it already looks like a good read. 

Off again, a round of golf awaits…..FORE!

Leave a Reply

