I am Unbalanced…or at least I hope I am

Been reading “The Barbarian Way” by Erwin Mcmanus.  Man is this a great book!  Here is a little about what I have been learning:

Christianity in itself truly is not a civilized religion.  Think about John the Baptist, Jesus, the apostles…none of them were necessarily civilized.  They were passionate.  They were Zealous.  They were barbaric.  They were iunbalanced.  Now when you hear the word unbalanced, you don’t think “man that is what I want to be”…but we’re not talking about being mentally or emotionally unbalanced.  We’re talking about being spiritually and passionately unbalanced.  John, the apostles, the early church…they were passionate.  And that is where I want to be.  Unbalanced.

One other point about Christianity…what do we think about discipleship?  Quote from Mcmanus: We think “discipleship is translated into standardizing everyone into the same pattern.  We have equated the promise that we would be conformed into the image of Christ with a belief that all of us will be the same.  Discipleship has become the mechanism for uniformity rather than uniqueness.”  This hit me.  Why do I try to push people into a mold of what a Christian should be?  I need to show people how amazingly free it can be to be a Christian….in the unique design of a Christian that God has for you.

 I am looking forward to digging further into “The Barbarian Way”, so check back soon for more posts.

Leave a Reply

